Watch video

In this episode I am going to cover some basic elements in the options list such as create, delete, and rollback.

Currently I am logged in as an administrator, so I am going to log out and back into the editor account I created  You can see now, I only have access to the content menu in the sidebar. To get the options menu to appear we go to our content tree and click the three dots then "do something else" You can see that we have a limited list of options because of the permissions in this editor account the same way we only have the content option in the sidebar.  Let’s go through the options in this list, they are pretty self-explanatory but can be confusing: o Create makes new pages o Delete removes a page o Move changes the level of a page o Copy will duplicate a page o Sort changes the order of the pages o Rollback reverts back to a previous save point o Audit Trail shows us what changes have been made on each page o Notification allows us to be notified when something changes o Send to Translation sends new content to a translator if you have a multi-lingual site o Finally Reload Nodes allows you to essentially refresh the page Over the course of this episode and the next one we will use all of these options!

Create Let’s start off by creating a new page. The first thing to think about is where we want this new page to reside. If we want to create a level two page then I can right-click on the level 1/Home page and hit create, or hit the three dots.  Next we will be given a list of available document types to use. You can think of these document types as a template of pre-selected properties and data types. They have also been created by either the developer or web designer so they can have unique names.  For now we will choose the document type Text Page. We can see we get the same properties and data types that we did with all our other level 2 pages because they all use the same document type. In fact if we look at the properties tab we can see that the document type is specified. If you are unsure what document type to use look at other pages in the properties tab to see what was previously used. Now we can enter test information and hit save. If we preview our website, we can see that the new test page has been created. 

Delete Now we will look into how to delete pages. I am going to delete the test page we just created along with the installing modules page. It is as simple as hitting the delete option and then selecting “ok”  We want to be cautious when using delete because there are other ways of getting pages off the navigation bar such as the NaviHide feature that is hiding our Data Types page. With that in mind if you do make a mistake and delete a page that you didn’t mean to there is another useful tool in the options list. The move option.

Move We are not able to hit the back button as you would on a webpage because Umbraco is an online program. Instead we can use the move option! If I want to bring back our Installing Modules page I go to the recycle bin, right click to bring up our options menu, then hit move. I can now choose where I want the page to be put back. Remember our root structure. When I select the Home page it will be placed underneath our home page making it a level 2 page. Sure enough it moves back! 
 

Rollback The move method works great if you accidentally delete a page but what if you make a mistake with the content you have edited? I will delete all of the information on the about us page and hit save. Notice the back button will not bring us back to that information and we cannot move anything out of the recycle bin. Instead we use the Rollback option. It is as simple as right clicking the page the mistake was made on, and choosing rollback. Now we choose what version we want to revert to. In our case it will be the most recent version we have changed. If everything looks correct hit rollback.  

Reload Now it alerts us that the rollback has occurred but we don’t see the about information re-appear. This is because we have to refresh the page. Instead of hitting the reset button in the browser we will use the reload node option. Again simply right click and choose reload nodes. Now we see that the changes have been made. 

Audit Trail Another helpful option is the audit trail. This lets you see the activity that has happened on each page. It is displayed as the action that occurred, the user that made the change, the date and any comments associated with the change. 

We have gone over a majority of the options list so in the next episode we will create our first blog post.

Creating Content

Total Time: 00:18:42

Learn how to create new content along with a better understanding of the Media Section!